Get a Smaller Glass

Glass-of-Water-1“Are you a glass half-full or half-empty kind of person?” I asked my Uncle Brian more than 15 years ago. I still remember his unconventional answer, revealing a third option, “get a smaller glass.”

The idea of getting a smaller glass conflicted with my core value of personal growth. At the same time, I have a desire for the simplicity of a minimalist lifestyle.

I contemplated the focus of my new blog. The experts said to specialize or be generic. I decided on a third option, “get a smaller glass.” I collect insights when I read interesting books. Words of wisdom spark self-development that helps me learn AND there is simplicity; A cocktail of life lessons.

I was pondering a theme of why I want to blog when I was reading the April 2013 edition of O Magazine. Oprah wrote something that stood out to me, “Ultimately, we all want the same thing: a fulfilled life. And the confidence to be wholly, completely ourselves.” I found my blog title: “My Journey to a Fulfilled Life.”

The world continues to get busier and our dissatisfaction gets noisier. It is important to listen for the simple wisdom that comes in a whisper of a life lesson learned. In the process of building the confidence to wholly and completely be myself, I invite you to join me on this journey.

Reflect & Share: Where in your life can you “Get a Smaller Glass” (the third option you didn’t know you could pick)?

Image:

2 Comments

May 23, 2013 · 6:00 am

2 responses to “Get a Smaller Glass

  1. Char

    My smaller glass has to do with expectations. Do I really need to have my house spotlessly clean and a perfectly set table before inviting family and friends to dinner? Lowering my expectations to “good enough” allows me to do what really matters, what really fulfills. It’s a lot easier to keep that smaller glass full than trying to fill the larger one where everything has to be perfect.

    • Amen! It is all about focusing on the things that truly matter, like spending time with friends and family, that makes life fulfilling. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

