Drawing the Line: Boundaries (#1)

BoundariesOne of my core values is “personal responsibility.” If I am held accountable for a result, then I want control of implementing how I will get it. I love clear expectations. As a planner, it makes me feel secure knowing my resources and limits. I do not like ambushes from people who never communicate their limits and then explode when I’ve pushed too far. Not only does it cause conflict, I then have to revise all my previous planning. I need to know what I’m responsible for.  I also need to know what I am not responsible for so I don’t try to fix problems that I don’t own.

“Drawing  the Line” series is about looking at our personal boundaries in an effort to have healthy relationships. In learning about where my own line is, I can then give more respect to where other people draw their line. When I clearly communicate my boundary, I invite others to communicate their boundary.

The beginning of a new series allows the opportunity to pause and review the purpose of writing this blog, “wisdom served in bite-sized pieces.” I love learning about personal growth. I’m passionate about sharing the most valuable parts in hope that it will be impactful to someone else. Highlights from self-development books provide a taste of insight for people with busy schedules. This blog series is based on Henry McCloud & John Townsend’s book, “Boundaries: When to Say Yes, How to Say No to Take Control of Your Life.” We will begin the next trip of self-discovery here. Please join me on “My Journey to a Fulfilled Life.”

Reflect & Share: What stops you from drawing the line and making your boundaries clear?

Like. Subscribe. Share. Comment.

More Blogs about Boundaries:

Let them be who they are (video blog)

Physical Intimacy: “Point of No Return” (blog)

“Your Life Begins at The End of Your Comfort Zone” (blog)

Boundaries: “Not easy, just right

“Boundaries” (blog)

“Set the Cornerstone and Look in the Mirror” Series: Draw the Line (blog)

Get the Book (buy)

23 Comments

Filed under communication, life coaching, Living on Purpose, marriage, Self-Growth

23 responses to “Drawing the Line: Boundaries (#1)

  1. Stephanie

    Another insightful read from you, Charmin! You always seem to share with me exactly what I need to hear. You have a special gift. Thank you from the bottom of my heart and keep them coming!!

  2. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries at Work | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  3. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries with Kids | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  4. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries in Marriage | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  5. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries with Family (#6) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  6. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries with Resistors (#7) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  7. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries with Money (#8) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  8. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries with Friends (#9) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  9. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundary Problems (#10) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  10. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries with God (#11) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  11. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Measuring Success with Boundaries (#12) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  12. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries Law #1 Sowing & Reaping (#13-a) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  13. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries Law #2 “Responsibility” (#13-b) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  14. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries Law #3 “Power” (#13-c) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  15. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries Law #4 “Respect” (#13-d) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  16. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries Law #6 “Evaluation” (#13-f) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  17. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries Law #7 “Proactivity” (#13-g) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  18. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries Law #8 “Envy” (#13-h) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  19. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries Law #9 “Activity” (#13-i) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  20. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries Law #5 “Motivation” (#13-e) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  21. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Boundaries Law #10 “Exposure” (#13-j) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  22. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Review (#14) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

  23. Pingback: Kalpa Pharmaceuticals Injectable Steroids

Leave a Reply

