Drawing the Line: Boundaries Law #2 “Responsibility” (#13-b)

“Stupid Tax” is commonly used by personal finance expert Dave Ramsey when referring to the cost of bad choices. Everyone eventually has to pay this tax, some more than others. The wise people have a special fund for “stupid tax” because it is only a matter of time.

This blog series  is based on the book, Boundaries. There are 10 Laws of Boundaries addressed in one of the chapters. This week we will explore the second law. Boundaries Law #2: “Responsibility” allows a person to pay the price.

New Habit #2: I will be responsible for myself and allow you to be responsible for yourself.

Marriage is a partnership. I benefit from my husband’s efforts and he benefits from mine. The flip side is that partnership can also mean that one spouse pays the price for the bad choices of the other. The Boundaries Law of “Responsibility” reinforces the idea that rescuing someone from the consequences of their decisions will only set yourself up to have to do it over and over again. We need to allow people to pay the price for themselves.

This lesson literally showed up in the household budget. I got a parking ticket for almost $60 because I didn’t see the sign posted in the residential area about street cleaning that day. I did not pay the ticket from our joint funds. It was my financial burden to accept. I didn’t want it to have repercussions to our bottom line at the end of the month. The loss of my personal spending money has made me more aware of parking restrictions. I am responsible for paying the price for my own “stupid tax.”

New Year, New Habits!

1 Comment

Filed under Self-Growth

One response to “Drawing the Line: Boundaries Law #2 “Responsibility” (#13-b)

  1. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Review (#14) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

Leave a Reply

