Drawing the Line: Boundaries Law #4 “Respect” (#13-d)

http://www.sanderslawnandlandscape.com/Websites/sanderslawnandlandscape/Images/waco_fence_installation_repair_sanders_lawn_and_landscape.jpg

Seeing morbidly obese children waddling around the cruise deck violates my core value. I caught myself being judgmental to parents who allow their children to carry around excessive fat that forces kids to not be able to walk properly. I was offended at their disrespect for health.

This blog series is based on the book, Boundaries. There are 10 Laws of Boundaries addressed in one of the chapters. This week we will explore the fourth law. Boundaries Law #4: “Respect” helps us focus on building our own fence.

New Habit #4: I will show respect to others by minding my own boundaries.

It’s easy to place our core values on the lifestyle choices of others. Based on how we make decisions, we apply the same criteria for others. “We judge the boundary decision of others, thinking that we know best.” One of the bite-sized pieces of wisdom that I got from the Boundaries chapter is to give respect to the boundaries of others, the way we want our boundaries respected.

In a previous blog I wrote about Boundaries with Self, one of the areas that I identified that needs continuous tending is health-management. Not tracking my food intake leads to my jeans not fitting. After weighing myself on the scale post-cruise, I need to be offended by my own disrespect of my health and let others be concerned with their own.

New Year, New Habits!

1 Comment

Filed under Self-Growth

One response to “Drawing the Line: Boundaries Law #4 “Respect” (#13-d)

  1. Pingback: Drawing the Line: Review (#14) | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

Leave a Reply

