One Year of Blogging (#1): 3 Blog Highlights

1_cupcakeCelebrating One Year of Blogging!

I once heard a famous blogger say that you aren’t a full-fledged blogger until you’ve done it consistently for a year. Anyone can start a blog, not everyone has the commitment, content, or curiosity to sustain it over time. Building a tribe of followers takes time and trust. The resource that helped me the most was Michael Hyatt’s book, “Platform.”  One of the big messages was “be consistent.” I decided I would show up every week with content.

The goal of the blog was to serve wisdom in bite-sized pieces. I love reading, learning, and sharing the best parts. A lot of my friends are busy raising families. Many don’t have time to read books or have deep conversations. This blog allows me to provide a simplified message of topics that matter, in an easy- to-read format.

Some weekly blogs may have slipped through the cracks. I picked the three most viewed posts from each blog to give you a sample of ones that you may have missed or want to share with others.

3 Most Viewed Posts

1. Love on Purpose: Words of Affirmation:  A lot of times people who love reading, love words. People whose primary Love Language is Words of Affirmation need to “hear it.” There is a list of eight clues that this might be your Love Language. This series is based on Gary Chapman’s book, “The Five Love Languages.” This was a life-changing book that is a must- read and a must-have conversation with anyone who comes into my life.

2. His & Hers: His #1 Need is Sexual Fulfillment:  My friends are in the full-time family raising mode. Children require constant energy and attention. This high-level need can easily lead to neglect of the average husband’s #1 need…sex. The danger is that a man can only endure sexual starvation for so long until there are negative repercussions on the marriage and family. I don’t want my friends to be ambushed one day when their husbands come home and say, “I don’t want to be married to you anymore” and “there is someone else.” It is devastating to invest so much of your life into raising kids, only to have to share them with another woman who raises them every other weekend (and over the summer). This blog series is based on Willard Harley, Jr’s book, “His Needs, Her Needs: Building an Affair-Proof Marriage”.  When we know what is most important to our partner, we can be focused in providing needs-fulfillment. Every relationship is vulnerable given the right circumstances. We must practice vigilance to protect the health of our relationships.

3. Drawing the Line: Boundaries with Family (#6): When we get married, we are creating our own “family.” Fathers hand off the responsibility of protecting and providing to their daughter’s new husband. When boundaries are not clearly distinguished, our family of origin can be operating on a different set of expectations.  The blog series is based on Henry McCloud & John Townsend’s book, “Boundaries: When to say Yes, How to say No to Take Control of Your Life.” When we have strong boundaries, we can feel safe to create our own family identity.

When I started this blog I had no idea what to write about for 52 weeks. I love learning. I decided to life lessons from wisdom I’ve collected over the years. Having a weekly commitment to produce a blog forced me to be more curious. I listened to friends’ problems and often times thought, “ooh! That’s a good blog topic.” Why be limited to one great conversation when I can create a resource to have a bigger discussion with more people.

My service is to provide insight and resources for people who don’t have time to digest the whole book. Thank you for reading my blog posts and subscribing.  Your commitment inspires me to keep pushing myself on My Journey to a Fulfilled Life.

Request: Ideas for a future blog series? What area are you having frustration in?  What self-development book do you want to read but have no time for…I can read it and give you the highlights in a blog!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Self-Growth

Leave a Reply

