Happy Wife for Life: Choose Friends Wisely (Secret #6)

old group of friends

Wanting to grow old together is a proclamation of young couples. In a culture of disposable marriages, I look for examples of how exactly one would stay married over a lifetime in order to be even be to “grow old together.”

The “Happy Wife for Life” series is based on the findings from Fawn Weaver’s book, Happy Wives Club, where she travels around the world to find the threads that weaves amazing marriages together. Secret #6 is Choose Friends Wisely. Weaver writes, “Be selective about the company you keep. Surrounding yourself with others who build up your marriage rather than attempt to tear it down was a must. People who believe in the power of love and the ability of a marriage to last a lifetime, these are the ones who were allowed into the inner circle of these couples.”

The lesson I learned is that an inner circle of friends is necessary in order to make growing older together in marriage “normal.”

I know marriage can be challenging. I want solid friends to hold me to the standards I committed myself to on my wedding day. When times get tough, I want to be comforted and then sent home to work out the conflict with my husband. When we choose friends wisely, we enrich our experience as a Happy Wife for Life.

 

1 Comment

Filed under marriage

One response to “Happy Wife for Life: Choose Friends Wisely (Secret #6)

  1. Pingback: Happy Wife for Life: Series Overview | My Journey to a Fulfilled Life

Leave a Reply

